31
Jan
08

Arduino connected to ultrasonic sensor……

I finally received my Arduino board and a Parralax Ping Ultrasonic sensor, together with a few bits and bobs such as wires and a solderless breadboard.  Having no previous experience of how to wire up electronics and having never seen a solderless breadboard before I did feel a little in over my head, but to my surprise……… it was easy to wire up!

My reason for wanting to use an ultrasonic sensor for my project is so that I can detect the audiences’ movement.  Movement is a very important factor within the theoretical side of my practice as our movement through the non-place has a predominant affect on how we define it as a space.

Here’s a picture of the setup below:

 arduino1.jpg 

 The Arduino website has a good amount of documentation to on both hardware and software to get you up and running.  There is also a good community who seem happy to share their knowledge within the forum pages.

I downloaded the Ultrasonic code from the website and uploaded it to the board, I ran the serial monitor within the Arduino environment and the code seemed to work as described as the sensor was reading a distance back to the computer.  Below is a video of me moving the sensor to and from my computer to demonstrate this:

 

The challenge now is to get the Arduino to communicate with Pure Data and run a series of tests to begin to work out how this project can be realised with the best possible functionality.

I’ve got a feeling that this next process is not going to be as straight forward……

3 Responses to “Arduino connected to ultrasonic sensor……”


  1. March 25, 2008 at 3:33 am

    Hi, I am doing the same project. What code did you use for your test? Did you ever get your project done?

  2. 2 nicholasbuer
    March 25, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    Hey there. I started by using this code found at http://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/UltrasoundSensor
    It should work straight out of the box! Its just up to you to hone it to whatever you need it to do….
    I’m still doing my project, hopefully finish it by June. What’s your projects intentions? Hope the code works for it!!..

  3. April 5, 2008 at 3:16 am

    I have gotten it to work like you show in your video. My site is http://www.denski.com.

    I just need to control a video installation when the sensor reaches it’s trigger. My task is just to get the whole thing to work as my project. This task will lead into work I want to polish in the future.

    Right now I am working on a video mixer tutorial to get used to pure data – but the resolution is so poor I cannot use it. I am in the process of trying to locate some other tutorials.

    I saw the plug-in on your site that I need to get pd to work with audrino. I am going to try that too.


Leave a Reply

