03
Nov
07

Proposal part 3……..!?

Heres my proposal, refined yet again.  I do feel that I am getting somewhere though and I’m quite excited in the direction that this proposal is heading.  Ok, for my own reference, this time I’ll document it in full…….(this is still yet to be looked at by Andy)     

Working Title:

Non-Places: To what extent do we shape and define the non-place?

And through process, can a non-place become concerned with identity?

 

Aims:

·     I want to explore how we experience the non-place and to what extent do these experiences shape the non-place?

·     To investigate how the non-place affects the individual, and what is our affect on it?

 

Objectives:

·     Through researching non-places that have been previously defined by artists and theorists, I want to understand how the non-place affects the individual and in turn what the individuals’ affect is on it. 

·     I hope to make new observations as to how we may perceive this environment and how we experience this space. 

·     I want to see if I can find some identity within the non-place. For example the supermarket trolley which we use to fill with our wants and needs to the locations of car crashes on our roads and motorways. Through a process can specific objects or events that occur within a non-place embody that location with a certain identity? And if so, how does this process relate to how we collectively perceive a non-place? I intend support my research with video work that is a reflection of my observations. 

·     If we remove the visual experiences that we use to identify with a place, does this then become a non-place?

·     I will experiment with removing our historical or relational associations with places’ through video manipulation.   For example, to the River Thames from well-known vantage points and erase all the historical landmarks that we use to identify with this space.  Through video experiments supported by research and reflection, I hope to gain an understanding of to what extent our visual perception defines a non-place, and enables it to exist.         

·     My intention is to continue to focus down into the subject and look at either one or two non-places as the focal point for my research.  I will use the above examples as starting point for my research.

 

Rationale:

·     My work has always looked how society affects the individual.  This proposal originated from a broad investigation into how society affects our perception of reality.  My research has progressed towards focusing on a particular aspect of our reality, the non-place, and to explore how it affects us and how we affect it. 

‘If a place can be defined as relational, historical and concerned with identity, then a space which can not be defined as relational, or historical, or concerned with identity will be a non-place….Place and non-place are rather like opposed polarities: the first is never completely erased, the second never totally completed; they are like palimpsests on which the scrambled game of identity and relations is ceaselessly rewritten’ Marc Auge (1995)

 

·     I intend to question this understanding of the non-place, not only in relation to how we perceive and experience it, but also to gain a deeper understanding of the individuals’ position and connection with it.  I’ll consider the following points for questioning. 

·     Can a non-place be concerned with our identity? To what extent is it shaped by our experiences with it?

·     To what extent can we control these experiences?

·     Is there a hidden beauty within the non-place that is yet to be connected and completed?

·     How do we visually perceive the non-place?

·     Can a place exist in a pure form?   

 

Outcomes:

·     I want to experiment with the figurative and the non-figurative and also a juxtaposition of the two.  This most probably will be presented in the form of a video installation using sound, light and video. 

·     Currently I have two ideas:

·     I may project a collection of films that show non-places  that have been redefined by personal experiences.  For example, I might film locations where car accidents have happened,  I would present these as a series of dates, then using motion sensors, allow the viewer to touch the projection to choose a date and be able to move around the space to some extent.  Methodology wise this process would offer the viewer some control over how they experience the space.  It would also contradict the fact the victim of the car accident had little control over their experience on that date. 

·     My other idea revolves around how we visually experience the space.  This may be presented in a non-linear format and may involve a degree of video manipulation.  I may use a combination of these two ideas, both technologically and theoretically, but it is really too early to say specifically what I will present at this stage, this will be informed by my research and reflection.   

 

Media:

·     For compositing and video manipulation I want to learn how to use the program ‘Motion’.

·     For the colour grading process, I want to learn how to use the program ‘Color’.

·     For video editing I will continue to learn how to use ‘Final Cut Pro’.  

·     For audio I will use ‘Soundtrack Pro’ and ‘Logic’

·     If I intend to use motion sensors, I will use the program ‘Pure Data’.

·     Video Projector, DVD player/computer, (Motion sensors)

·     Audio speakers and equipment.

 

Methodologies:

·     I want to explore how we experience the non-place. My research into artists and theorists that have approached the concept of the non-place will formulate the foundation from which I will make new observations.

·     My process involves allowing the viewer to shape how they experience the non-place, and also to connect that space to another individuals experience of it.  I want to see if this process can redefine how we perceive a space.   

  

·     I will use my blog to record all my developments.  I hope to keep this quite informal by documenting my thought process and personal observations of my own position with regards to the non-place.

·     My processes of experimentation both visual and literal will be evaluated using an action/reflection methodology.  I want to record all the successes and failures of my research as it progresses and use this to further my engagement and understanding of my subject matter.

·     I want to use mind maps to connect my thoughts.

·     My research into existing theory combined with visual experiments and personal observations will inform how my work will be presented and specifically what its’ intentions are.     

 

 

Risk Assessment:

·     I intend to use sound so the wires for the audio equipment need to be safely disguised, preferably by hiding them behind the walls or under the floor. 

·     The audio and visual equipment needs’ to be positioned so it does not obstruct the entrance and exit.

·     If I do plan to make this piece into more of an installation, I will have conduct a new risk assessment based on this development.

·     If I do travel a lot to capture my footage, I will have to consider my own safety and also the safety of my equipment.   

0 Responses to “Proposal part 3……..!?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

