01
Nov
07

Identtiy Idnetity Identity……

Marc Auge states that:

‘If a place can be defined as relational, historical and concerned with identity, then a space which can not be defined as relational, or historical, or concerned with identity will be a non-place’

I want to question this theory and begin by looking for examples of identity within the non-place.  Are there subtle examples of identity within it?

This has made me question my own experiences of non-places.  One experience I had with the non-place that is our roads and motorways’ came straight to mind.

My most significant experience was on November 7th 2000, when I was involved in a car crash and broke my right leg so badly that I had to have it reconstructed. It took me a long time to fully recover, it changed my path in life.  

The space in which this incident happened has become a place for me.  It will always be the place where I had my accident.  It is relational to me, it represents a particular period of time for me and it is also concerned with my emotional and physical identity.

I want to film this space to portray a particular non-place that does have an identity, albeit a personal one.  Maybe the non-place does have an identity but is is just tangled up in our own personal experiences, never to be connected or completed, so it remains an anonymous entity.  I hope to find whether this is the case……………

 

1 Response to “Identtiy Idnetity Identity……”


  1. January 10, 2010 at 7:08 pm

    Interesting, I like this!


Leave a Reply

