18
Oct
07

When you see an ambulance, do you assume it is for someone you do not know…

I’ve been working on an experimental piece thats a composition of footage I captured in the college car park of the leaves in the wind, and the shadow of a tree on the wall, layered with an excerpt from an old promotional film from the 1940s about communication and the media(http://www.archive.org/details/SpotNews1937 Thanks to Tim for showing me the Prelinger Archives website!) This technique of compositing very different visual imagery is something that I have not done before, it is taking me into unfamiliar territory, and I kind of like it! I want to continue to try and push myself to produce something different, to learn new techniques to better visually realise my intentions.  The sound originated from the original footage shot in the car park. When you see an ambulance, do you assume it is for someone you do not know…  When I was making this piece, I was reflecting on experience with the leaves in the park.  In a way, watching the swell of leaves bustle around each other in their masses personified an anonymity that is reflected in society.  There’s something quite contemplative about this imagery.  I want to go filming again and capture some footage that literally portrays this premise, I just need a windier day….!    

0 Responses to “When you see an ambulance, do you assume it is for someone you do not know…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

