06
Oct
07

Camera Talk..

Moshe and Katrin gave a talk today on how to use a video camera, explaining some of the technical aspects as well.  I feel like I learned something today, I mean I know how to use a camera, but they both taught me something I didn’t know, like the technique of zooming in on a subject from a distance to throw the lens into telephoto mode, then use the manual focus to focus on your subject to create depth of field.  Depth of field is something I have been trying to achieve for a while now! the problem being that DV cameras have unlimited depth of field, adaptors can be very expensive and home made 35mm lens adaptors I just don’t trust.  But this technique really works! It has some limitations though.  You have to send the lens into telephoto mode, you are using the zoom function potentially to its’ capacity, this means that this technique could only be used with a tripod as even slight movements would be substantially accentuated with hand-held shots.  But that aside it is a very usable technique. Thats made my day….  

0 Responses to “Camera Talk..”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

